Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On Google Plus
Tag Archives: chakras

A Hip Guide to the Chakra System

by Jacquelyn Richey

Chakra means “wheel” in Sanskrit, an ancient language of India, and there are seven major interdependent chakras located along our spine making up the system where the mind and body connect.  Chakras represent archetypal levels of consciousness, meaning each energy center is like a blue print or map for understanding how we integrate information from the world around us, creating responses to it and how we navigate our place in the world.

Through ancient teachings, the seven main chakras are known to link the proverbial heavens to earth. Meaning, the universe we live in is actually within our consciousness and intimately connected to our biology!   A little imagination to illustrate the idea can go a long way – think of your body as an energy field in the shape of a prism, light pours into the tippy top of your head and as the light waves reflect throughout your body, a beautiful rainbow appears in the most chakralicious of ways! Roy G. Biv would be proud.

How chakralicious are you? The following is a simple guide to understanding the seven major chakras:

Root Chakra:  I Have

The Root Chakra is also called the 1st Chakra, and is located at the base of the spine and governs grounding, security, prosperity, and trust.  This chakra is associated with the color RED.

Sacral Chakra:  I Create

The Sacral Chakra, our 2nd Chakra, is located in the lower abdomen and processes creativity, emotions, joy, and pleasure.  This chakra is associated with the color ORANGE.

Solar Plexus Chakra:  I Can

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located at the navel and governs willpower, courage, growth, and self-esteem.  This third chakra is associated with the color YELLOW.

Heart Chakra:  I Love

The Heart Chakra is located in the chest and encourages love, compassion, acceptance, and balance.  This chakra is associated with the color GREEN.

Throat Chakra:  I Speak

The Throat Chakra is located in the throat and encourages communication, expression, individuality, and truth.  This chakra is associated with the color BLUE.

Third Eye Chakra:  I See

The Third Eye Chakra is located at the forehead and encourages intuition, imagination, dreams, and vision.  This chakra (sixth) is associated with the color INDIGO.

Crown Chakra:  I Know

The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head and encourages consciousness, bliss, wisdom, and awareness.  This chakra is associated with the color VIOLET.

Now that you’re hip to the ABCs of the chakra system, be saavy and maintain its balance by entering the realm of possibilities right there in you – and explore! Reap these benefits by making the most of your chakraliciousness.

Tip: to maintain balance and cultivate the health of your energy system, add meditation to your daily practice. Think of meditation as your personal vehicle through the creative fields of limitlessness.

ChakWave is one of’ recommended practitioners – check it out HERE.

Read more about Chakras here:


Author info:


Jacquelyn is the Creator & Chief ChakWaver of ChakWave Chakra Tonics, organic juices inspired by the chakra system (  She teaches yoga and has completed the intensive Chakra Awakening: Psychology of the Chakras course as well as Chakra Yoga teacher training with Anodea Judith, founder of Sacred Centers.  She enjoys sprinkling life with fun dashes of Ayurveda, herbology, aromatherapy, sound healing, nutrition, and positively practical intentions.




Comments ( 0 )

The Meaning of the Spring Equinox and 5 Great Ways to Bring It In

Historical Meaning:

The Spring Equinox brings us a balance of day and night because the Sun is sitting on the Earth’s equator.   (“Equinox” means “equal night”.)

The spring equinox is celebrated in many traditions as a time of fertility, regeneration and rebirth. For thousands of years our ancestors have celebrated Spring Equinox, as a time of fertility, rebirth of life and energy – which is why today we find many traditional religious celebrations at this time, such as Easter and Passover.   The Mayans were very aware of the power of this day, and left us a phenomenal display of both their architectural and astronomical knowledge at the Chichen Itza pyramid. Every year on the spring equinox, thousands visit the site to view the light of the sun making a play of light and shadow on its stairs, which creates the effect of a serpent slithering down the pyramid during a four-hour time span on this day.

Chichen Itza Castillo Seen From East

Astrological Meaning:

Spring Equinox 2012 begins the astrological New Year with the Sun in Aries.   It is always a time of hope and optimism, of renewed confidence that life will go on with good times to come but this year is especially energizing because Aries is all about new beginnings and a new sense of identity. Aries are said to be the explorers and heroes of the Zodiac, and with the Aries New Moon joining with Uranus on Thursday, it’s said we should experience an awakened sense of ourselves.  And if that weren’t enough, a reduction in the Earth’s magnetic field makes it easier to release old patterns and awaken new ones — clearly this is the day to think about your higher purpose, and the year to become our own heroes and explorers!

Here are 5 easy ways to celebrate, renew and cleanse for spring:

1)     Simply set an intention for change. You can plant a seed to symbolize new beginnings and your new intentions, and pull a weed to symbolize the end of winter and end to any behaviors or relationships you want to put behind you. (This only takes a few minutes, and the power of intention is huge!)

2)     Join a celebration – there are many spiritual celebrations of all denominations happening today and over the next week. And if you’re not near one, consider joining in for Saul David Raye & guest astrologer Divine Harmony’s Soul Family TeleSatsangh tonight.

3)     Start a cleanse.  Especially if you’ve never tried one, this is the perfect time to make it a first (and a habit!)  There are many great cleanses out there, including multiple recipes on the web that you can make at home, but we love iZo Cleanze because it’s delivered to our doorstep and makes us feel like a superhero.

4)     Renew your Chakras – cleanse your energy with a Chakra massage or yoga class.  Focus on your new intentions (deep inhales) while exhaling old thought patterns.

5)     Spring-cleaning.   Cleaning your space = cleaning your energy. Clearing your clutter = clearing your mind.  The ritual of spring cleaning removes any negative energy accumulated over the winter months and prepares the home for the positive growing energy of spring and summer.  Burn some sage at the end of your cleaning session, or, for an extra boost, try Aunt Vi’s White Aura Spray for purifying and cleansing our space.  It contains Juniper oil, a folk remedy to dispel and purify negative spirits, and it’s infused with Clear Quartz and Diamond essences and also has the antibacterial and refreshing oils of Tea tree and Peppermint. mmmm!

6)     Bonus tip!  If you are near L.A., intuitive healer and Massage Therapist to the stars, Bea Holst, is offering a spring package for Cleansing, Rejuvenation and Glow -  A personalized energy balancing massage and cleanse.  Bea is one of our favorite practitioners and we’re booking now…here’s the offer:


Comments ( 2 )