Flat Rate Shipping! $5.00 for Candles!

A Hip Guide to the Chakra System

Chakra means “wheel” in Sanskrit, an ancient language of India, and there are seven major interdependent chakras located along our spine making up the system where the mind and body connect.  Chakras represent archetypal levels of consciousness, meaning each energy center is like a blue print or map for understanding how we integrate information from the world around us, creating responses to it and how we navigate our place in the world.

Through ancient teachings, the seven main chakras are known to link the proverbial heavens to earth. Meaning, the universe we live in is actually within our consciousness and intimately connected to our biology!   A little imagination to illustrate the idea can go a long way – think of your body as an energy field in the shape of a prism, light pours into the tippy top of your head and as the light waves reflect throughout your body, a beautiful rainbow appears in the most chakralicious of ways! Roy G. Biv would be proud.

How chakralicious are you? The following is a simple guide to understanding the seven major chakras:
Root Chakra:  I Have
The Root Chakra is also called the 1st Chakra, and is located at the base of the spine and governs grounding, security, prosperity, and trust.  This chakra is associated with the color RED.
Sacral Chakra:  I Create
The Sacral Chakra, our 2nd Chakra, is located in the lower abdomen and processes creativity, emotions, joy, and pleasure.  This chakra is associated with the color ORANGE.
Solar Plexus Chakra:  I Can
The Solar Plexus Chakra is located at the navel and governs willpower, courage, growth, and self-esteem.  This third chakra is associated with the color YELLOW.
Heart Chakra:  I Love
The Heart Chakra is located in the chest and encourages love, compassion, acceptance, and balance.  This chakra is associated with the color GREEN.
Throat Chakra:  I Speak
The Throat Chakra is located in the throat and encourages communication, expression, individuality, and truth.  This chakra is associated with the color BLUE.
Third Eye Chakra:  I See
The Third Eye Chakra is located at the forehead and encourages intuition, imagination, dreams, and vision.  This chakra (sixth) is associated with the color INDIGO.
Crown Chakra:  I Know
The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head and encourages consciousness, bliss, wisdom, and awareness.  This chakra is associated with the color VIOLET.
Now that you’re hip to the ABCs of the chakra system, be saavy and maintain its balance by entering the realm of possibilities right there in you – and explore! Reap these benefits by making the most of your chakraliciousness.
Tip: to maintain balance and cultivate the health of your energy system, add meditation to your daily practice. Think of meditation as your personal vehicle through the creative fields of limitlessness.

by Jacquelyn Richey

Author info:
Jacquelyn is the author and Creator & Chief ChakWaver of ChakWave Chakra Tonics, organic juices inspired by the chakra system (www.ChakWave.com).  She teaches yoga and has completed the intensive Chakra Awakening: Psychology of the Chakras course as well as Chakra Yoga teacher training with Anodea Judith, founder of Sacred Centers.  She enjoys sprinkling life with fun dashes of Ayurveda, herbology, aromatherapy, sound healing, nutrition, and positively practical intentions. Jacquelyn@ChakWave.com.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published